Patchwork [76/84] audit: wait_for_auditd() should use TASK_UNINTERRUPTIBLE

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Kamal Mostafa
Date June 17, 2013, 5:31 p.m.
Message ID <1371490288-23167-77-git-send-email-kamal@canonical.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/251996/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Kamal Mostafa - June 17, 2013, 5:31 p.m.
3.8.13.3 -stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>

commit f000cfdde5de4fc15dead5ccf524359c07eadf2b upstream.

audit_log_start() does wait_for_auditd() in a loop until
audit_backlog_wait_time passes or audit_skb_queue has a room.

If signal_pending() is true this becomes a busy-wait loop, schedule() in
TASK_INTERRUPTIBLE won't block.

Thanks to Guy for fully investigating and explaining the problem.

(akpm: that'll cause the system to lock up on a non-preemptible
uniprocessor kernel)

(Guy: "Our customer was in fact running a uniprocessor machine, and they
reported a system hang.")

Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Reported-by: Guy Streeter <streeter@redhat.com>
Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Kamal Mostafa <kamal@canonical.com>
---
 kernel/audit.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch

diff --git a/kernel/audit.c b/kernel/audit.c
index d596e53..8a667f10 100644
--- a/kernel/audit.c
+++ b/kernel/audit.c
@@ -1107,7 +1107,7 @@  static inline void audit_get_stamp(struct audit_context *ctx,
 static void wait_for_auditd(unsigned long sleep_time)
 {
 	DECLARE_WAITQUEUE(wait, current);
-	set_current_state(TASK_INTERRUPTIBLE);
+	set_current_state(TASK_UNINTERRUPTIBLE);
 	add_wait_queue(&audit_backlog_wait, &wait);
 
 	if (audit_backlog_limit &&