diff mbox series

[v6,2/3] pinctrl: qcom: Allow pinctrl-msm code to be loadable as a module

Message ID 20201106042710.55979-2-john.stultz@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series [v6,1/3] pinctrl: qcom: Kconfig: Rework PINCTRL_MSM to be a depenency rather then a selected config | expand

Commit Message

John Stultz Nov. 6, 2020, 4:27 a.m. UTC
Tweaks to allow pinctrl-msm code to be loadable as a module.

This is needed in order to support having the qcom-scm driver,
which pinctrl-msm calls into, configured as a module.

This requires that we tweak Kconfigs selecting PINCTRL_MSM to
also depend on QCOM_SCM || QCOM_SCM=n so that we match the
module setting of QCOM_SCM.

Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>
Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Maulik Shah <mkshah@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Lina Iyer <ilina@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
Cc: linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org
Reviewed-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
v2:
* Module description and whitespace fixes suggested by Bjorn
* Added QCOM_SCM || QCOM_SCM=n bits on Kconfigs selecting
  PINCTRL_MSM. Reported by both Todd and Bjorn.
v3:
* Make sure the QCOM_SCM || QCOM_SCM=n trick is commented
v4:
* Rework "select PINCTRL_MSM" to "depends on PINCTRL_MSM"
  to consolidate the QCOM_SCM dependency.
v5:
* Add PINCTRL_MSM to arm64 defconfig
v6:
* Split PINCTRL_MSM dependency bit out into its own patch
---
 drivers/pinctrl/qcom/Kconfig       | 3 ++-
 drivers/pinctrl/qcom/pinctrl-msm.c | 2 ++
 2 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Comments

Linus Walleij Nov. 10, 2020, 1:34 p.m. UTC | #1
On Fri, Nov 6, 2020 at 5:27 AM John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> wrote:

> Tweaks to allow pinctrl-msm code to be loadable as a module.
>
> This is needed in order to support having the qcom-scm driver,
> which pinctrl-msm calls into, configured as a module.
>
> This requires that we tweak Kconfigs selecting PINCTRL_MSM to
> also depend on QCOM_SCM || QCOM_SCM=n so that we match the
> module setting of QCOM_SCM.
>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>
> Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>
> Cc: Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>
> Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
> Cc: Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>
> Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Maulik Shah <mkshah@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Lina Iyer <ilina@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>
> Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
> Cc: linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org
> Reviewed-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

Patch applied!

Yours,
Linus Walleij
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/Kconfig b/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/Kconfig
index c9bb2d9e49d47..8bb786ed152dd 100644
--- a/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/Kconfig
@@ -2,7 +2,8 @@ 
 if (ARCH_QCOM || COMPILE_TEST)
 
 config PINCTRL_MSM
-	bool "Qualcomm core pin controller driver"
+	tristate "Qualcomm core pin controller driver"
+	depends on QCOM_SCM || !QCOM_SCM #if QCOM_SCM=m this can't be =y
 	select PINMUX
 	select PINCONF
 	select GENERIC_PINCONF
diff --git a/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/pinctrl-msm.c b/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/pinctrl-msm.c
index c4bcda90aac4a..988343ac49b92 100644
--- a/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/pinctrl-msm.c
+++ b/drivers/pinctrl/qcom/pinctrl-msm.c
@@ -1443,3 +1443,5 @@  int msm_pinctrl_remove(struct platform_device *pdev)
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(msm_pinctrl_remove);
 
+MODULE_DESCRIPTION("Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. TLMM driver");
+MODULE_LICENSE("GPL v2");