[RFC,19/23] watchdog/hardlockup: Make arch_touch_nmi_watchdog() to hpet-based implementation

Message ID 1528851463-21140-20-git-send-email-ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com
State Not Applicable
Delegated to: David Miller
Headers show
Series
  • Implement an HPET-based hardlockup detector
Related show

Commit Message

Ricardo Neri June 13, 2018, 12:57 a.m.
CPU architectures that have an NMI watchdog use arch_touch_nmi_watchdog()
to briefly ignore the hardlockup detector. If the architecture does not
have an NMI watchdog, one can be constructed using a source of non-
maskable interrupts. In this case, arch_touch_nmi_watchdog() is common
to any underlying hardware resource used to drive the detector and needs
to be available to other kernel subsystems if hardware different from perf
drives the detector.

There exists perf-based and HPET-based implementations. Make it available
to the latter.

For clarity, wrap this function in a separate preprocessor conditional
from functions which are truly specific to the perf-based implementation.

Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Jacob Pan <jacob.jun.pan@intel.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
Cc: Babu Moger <babu.moger@oracle.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@lge.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Christoffer Dall <cdall@linaro.org>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
 include/linux/nmi.h | 14 ++++++++++----
 1 file changed, 10 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

Patch

diff --git a/include/linux/nmi.h b/include/linux/nmi.h
index 23e20d2..8b6b814 100644
--- a/include/linux/nmi.h
+++ b/include/linux/nmi.h
@@ -89,16 +89,22 @@  static inline void hardlockup_detector_disable(void) {}
 # define NMI_WATCHDOG_SYSCTL_PERM	0444
 #endif
 
-#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF)
+#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF) || \
+    defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_HPET)
 extern void arch_touch_nmi_watchdog(void);
+#else
+# if !defined(CONFIG_HAVE_NMI_WATCHDOG)
+static inline void arch_touch_nmi_watchdog(void) {}
+# endif
+#endif
+
+#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF)
 extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_stop(void);
 extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_restart(void);
 #else
 static inline void hardlockup_detector_perf_stop(void) { }
 static inline void hardlockup_detector_perf_restart(void) { }
-# if !defined(CONFIG_HAVE_NMI_WATCHDOG)
-static inline void arch_touch_nmi_watchdog(void) {}
-# endif
+
 #endif
 
 /**