[SRU,Artful,1/1] drm/i915/fbdev: Always forward hotplug events

Message ID a46922ff9b8f53f54b27e5fcbc21605a21082979.1512586773.git.joseph.salisbury@canonical.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [SRU,Artful,1/1] drm/i915/fbdev: Always forward hotplug events
Related show

Commit Message

Joseph Salisbury Dec. 6, 2017, 7:27 p.m.
From: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>

BugLink: http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1724911

With deferred fbdev setup we always need to forward hotplug events,
even if fbdev isn't fully set up yet. Otherwise the deferred setup
will neer happen.

Originally this check was added in

commit c45eb4fed12d278d3619f1904885bd0d7bcbf036 (tag: drm-intel-next-fixes-2016-08-05)
Author: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Date:   Wed Jul 13 18:34:45 2016 +0100

    drm/i915/fbdev: Check for the framebuffer before use

But the specific case of the hotplug function blowing up was fixed in

commit 50c3dc970a09b3b60422a58934cc27a413288bab
Author: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Date:   Fri Jun 27 17:19:22 2014 +0200

    drm/fb-helper: Fix hpd vs. initial config races

Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mika Kuoppala <mika.kuoppala@intel.com>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Reviewed-by: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Link: http://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20170706130023.28417-1-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
(cherry picked from commit 88be58be886f1215cc73dc8c273c985eecd7385c)
Signed-off-by: Steve Langasek <steve.langasek@canonical.com>
Signed-off-by: Joseph Salisbury <joseph.salisbury@canonical.com>
Reported-by: Steve Langasek <steve.langasek@canonical.com>
Tested-by: Steve Langasek <steve.langasek@canonical.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_fbdev.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_fbdev.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_fbdev.c
index 0c4cde6..ee1a5b9 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_fbdev.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_fbdev.c
@@ -813,7 +813,7 @@  void intel_fbdev_output_poll_changed(struct drm_device *dev)
 {
 	struct intel_fbdev *ifbdev = to_i915(dev)->fbdev;
 
-	if (ifbdev && ifbdev->vma)
+	if (ifbdev)
 		drm_fb_helper_hotplug_event(&ifbdev->helper);
 }