[3.16,082/134] usb: Make sure usb/phy/of gets built-in

Message ID lsq.1503062000.252054560@decadent.org.uk
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

Ben Hutchings Aug. 18, 2017, 1:13 p.m.
3.16.47-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Alexey Brodkin <Alexey.Brodkin@synopsys.com>

commit 3d6159640da9c9175d1ca42f151fc1a14caded59 upstream.

DWC3 driver uses of_usb_get_phy_mode() which is
implemented in drivers/usb/phy/of.c and in bare minimal
configuration it might not be pulled in kernel binary.

In case of ARC or ARM this could be easily reproduced with
"allnodefconfig" +CONFIG_USB=m +CONFIG_USB_DWC3=m.

On building all ends-up with:
---------------------->8------------------
  Kernel: arch/arm/boot/Image is ready
  Kernel: arch/arm/boot/zImage is ready
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 5 modules
ERROR: "of_usb_get_phy_mode" [drivers/usb/dwc3/dwc3.ko] undefined!
make[1]: *** [__modpost] Error 1
make: *** [modules] Error 2
---------------------->8------------------

Signed-off-by: Alexey Brodkin <abrodkin@synopsys.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
Cc: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>
Cc: Felix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Cc: Jeremy Kerr <jk@ozlabs.org>
Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
 drivers/Makefile | 1 +
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

Patch

--- a/drivers/Makefile
+++ b/drivers/Makefile
@@ -91,6 +91,7 @@  obj-$(CONFIG_USB_PHY)		+= usb/
 obj-$(CONFIG_USB)		+= usb/
 obj-$(CONFIG_PCI)		+= usb/
 obj-$(CONFIG_USB_GADGET)	+= usb/
+obj-$(CONFIG_OF)		+= usb/
 obj-$(CONFIG_SERIO)		+= input/serio/
 obj-$(CONFIG_GAMEPORT)		+= input/gameport/
 obj-$(CONFIG_INPUT)		+= input/