[tip:perf/core] tools/perf: Handle -EOPNOTSUPP for sampling events
diff mbox

Message ID tip-dc89e75a9412db5b1105a140182ec1e35a8351b4@git.kernel.org
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

tip-bot for Paul E. McKenney June 3, 2016, 10:52 a.m. UTC
Commit-ID:  dc89e75a9412db5b1105a140182ec1e35a8351b4
Gitweb:     http://git.kernel.org/tip/dc89e75a9412db5b1105a140182ec1e35a8351b4
Author:     Vineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 9 May 2016 15:07:39 +0530
Committer:  Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Fri, 3 Jun 2016 09:41:11 +0200

tools/perf: Handle -EOPNOTSUPP for sampling events

This allows (with a previous change to the perf error return ABI) for
calling out in userspace the exact reason for perf record failing
when PMU doesn't support overflow interrupts.

Note that this needs to be put ahead of existing precise_ip check as
that gets hit otherwise for the sampling fail case as well.

Signed-off-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: <linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org>
Cc: <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1462786660-2900-2-git-send-email-vgupta@synopsys.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
 tools/perf/util/evsel.c | 3 +++
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
index 245ac50..8d30cbd 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
@@ -2384,6 +2384,9 @@  int perf_evsel__open_strerror(struct perf_evsel *evsel, struct target *target,
 	 "No such device - did you specify an out-of-range profile CPU?");
 		break;
 	case EOPNOTSUPP:
+		if (evsel->attr.sample_period != 0)
+			return scnprintf(msg, size, "%s",
+	"PMU Hardware doesn't support sampling/overflow-interrupts.");
 		if (evsel->attr.precise_ip)
 			return scnprintf(msg, size, "%s",
 	"\'precise\' request may not be supported. Try removing 'p' modifier.");