Patchwork [PATCHv6,2/7] video: imxfb: Also add pwmr for the device tree.

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Denis Carikli
Date Oct. 24, 2013, 8:01 a.m.
Message ID <1382601665-6830-2-git-send-email-denis@eukrea.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/285811/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Denis Carikli - Oct. 24, 2013, 8:01 a.m.
pwmr has to be set to get the imxfb backlight work,
though pwmr was only configurable trough the platform data.

Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>
Cc: Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org>
Cc: Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk>
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>
Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
Cc: linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Sascha Hauer <kernel@pengutronix.de>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: Eric BĂ©nard <eric@eukrea.com>
Signed-off-by: Denis Carikli <denis@eukrea.com>
Acked-by: Jean-Christophe PLAGNIOL-VILLARD <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>
---
 .../devicetree/bindings/video/fsl,imx-fb.txt       |    3 +++
 drivers/video/imxfb.c                              |    2 ++
 2 files changed, 5 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/video/fsl,imx-fb.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/video/fsl,imx-fb.txt
index 46da08d..ac457ae 100644
--- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/video/fsl,imx-fb.txt
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/video/fsl,imx-fb.txt
@@ -17,6 +17,9 @@  Required nodes:
 Optional properties:
 - fsl,dmacr: DMA Control Register value. This is optional. By default, the
 	register is not modified as recommended by the datasheet.
+- fsl,pwmr:  LCDC PWM Contrast Control Register value. That property is
+	optional, but defining it is necessary to get the backlight working. If that
+	property is ommited, the register is zeroed.
 - fsl,lscr1: LCDC Sharp Configuration Register value.
 
 Example:
diff --git a/drivers/video/imxfb.c b/drivers/video/imxfb.c
index 4bf3837..f09372d 100644
--- a/drivers/video/imxfb.c
+++ b/drivers/video/imxfb.c
@@ -833,6 +833,8 @@  static int imxfb_init_fbinfo(struct platform_device *pdev)
 
 		of_property_read_u32(np, "fsl,dmacr", &fbi->dmacr);
 
+		of_property_read_u32(np, "fsl,pwmr", &fbi->pwmr);
+
 		/* These two function pointers could be used by some specific
 		 * platforms. */
 		fbi->lcd_power = NULL;