Patchwork [50/75] perf tools: Add anonymous huge page recognition

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Luis Henriques
Date Aug. 14, 2013, 10:36 a.m.
Message ID <1376476624-10011-51-git-send-email-luis.henriques@canonical.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/267102/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Luis Henriques - Aug. 14, 2013, 10:36 a.m.
3.5.7.19 -stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>

commit d0528b5d71faf612014dd7672e44225c915344b2 upstream.

Judging anonymous memory's vm_area_struct, perf_mmap_event's filename
will be set to "//anon" indicating this vma belongs to anonymous
memory.

Once hugepage is used, vma's vm_file points to hugetlbfs. In this way,
this vma will not be regarded as anonymous memory by is_anon_memory() in
perf user space utility.

Signed-off-by: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
Cc: Akihiro Nagai <akihiro.nagai.hw@hitachi.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1357363797-3550-1-git-send-email-zhu.wen-jie@hp.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Vinson Lee <vlee@freedesktop.org>
Signed-off-by: Luis Henriques <luis.henriques@canonical.com>
---
 tools/perf/util/map.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/map.c b/tools/perf/util/map.c
index a1f4e36..81072b6 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/map.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/map.c
@@ -15,7 +15,8 @@  const char *map_type__name[MAP__NR_TYPES] = {
 
 static inline int is_anon_memory(const char *filename)
 {
-	return strcmp(filename, "//anon") == 0;
+	return !strcmp(filename, "//anon") ||
+	       !strcmp(filename, "/anon_hugepage (deleted)");
 }
 
 static inline int is_no_dso_memory(const char *filename)