Patchwork [3.5.y.z,extended,stable] Patch "perf tools: Add anonymous huge page recognition" has been added to staging queue

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Luis Henriques
Date Aug. 9, 2013, 11:22 a.m.
Message ID <1376047337-5696-1-git-send-email-luis.henriques@canonical.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/266326/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Luis Henriques - Aug. 9, 2013, 11:22 a.m.
This is a note to let you know that I have just added a patch titled

    perf tools: Add anonymous huge page recognition

to the linux-3.5.y-queue branch of the 3.5.y.z extended stable tree 
which can be found at:

 http://kernel.ubuntu.com/git?p=ubuntu/linux.git;a=shortlog;h=refs/heads/linux-3.5.y-queue

If you, or anyone else, feels it should not be added to this tree, please 
reply to this email.

For more information about the 3.5.y.z tree, see
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Kernel/Dev/ExtendedStable

Thanks.
-Luis

------

From b6d79ce764f9fb5e3df248d23bc733b3c626f228 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
Date: Sat, 5 Jan 2013 13:29:57 +0800
Subject: [PATCH] perf tools: Add anonymous huge page recognition

commit d0528b5d71faf612014dd7672e44225c915344b2 upstream.

Judging anonymous memory's vm_area_struct, perf_mmap_event's filename
will be set to "//anon" indicating this vma belongs to anonymous
memory.

Once hugepage is used, vma's vm_file points to hugetlbfs. In this way,
this vma will not be regarded as anonymous memory by is_anon_memory() in
perf user space utility.

Signed-off-by: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
Cc: Akihiro Nagai <akihiro.nagai.hw@hitachi.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1357363797-3550-1-git-send-email-zhu.wen-jie@hp.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Vinson Lee <vlee@freedesktop.org>
Signed-off-by: Luis Henriques <luis.henriques@canonical.com>
---
 tools/perf/util/map.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--
1.8.3.2

Patch

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/map.c b/tools/perf/util/map.c
index a1f4e36..81072b6 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/map.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/map.c
@@ -15,7 +15,8 @@  const char *map_type__name[MAP__NR_TYPES] = {

 static inline int is_anon_memory(const char *filename)
 {
-	return strcmp(filename, "//anon") == 0;
+	return !strcmp(filename, "//anon") ||
+	       !strcmp(filename, "/anon_hugepage (deleted)");
 }

 static inline int is_no_dso_memory(const char *filename)