Patchwork [77/81] mm: don't overwrite mm->def_flags in do_mlockall()

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski
Date Feb. 19, 2013, 6:49 p.m.
Message ID <1361299784-8830-78-git-send-email-herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/222067/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski - Feb. 19, 2013, 6:49 p.m.
3.5.7.6 -stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>

commit 9977f0f164d46613288e0b5778eae500dfe06f31 upstream.

With commit 8e72033f2a48 ("thp: make MADV_HUGEPAGE check for
mm->def_flags") the VM_NOHUGEPAGE flag may be set on s390 in
mm->def_flags for certain processes, to prevent future thp mappings.
This would be overwritten by do_mlockall(), which sets it back to 0 with
an optional VM_LOCKED flag set.

To fix this, instead of overwriting mm->def_flags in do_mlockall(), only
the VM_LOCKED flag should be set or cleared.

Signed-off-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
Reported-by: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
---
 mm/mlock.c |    6 +++---
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

Patch

diff --git a/mm/mlock.c b/mm/mlock.c
index ef726e8..3283272 100644
--- a/mm/mlock.c
+++ b/mm/mlock.c
@@ -524,11 +524,11 @@  SYSCALL_DEFINE2(munlock, unsigned long, start, size_t, len)
 static int do_mlockall(int flags)
 {
 	struct vm_area_struct * vma, * prev = NULL;
-	unsigned int def_flags = 0;
 
 	if (flags & MCL_FUTURE)
-		def_flags = VM_LOCKED;
-	current->mm->def_flags = def_flags;
+		current->mm->def_flags |= VM_LOCKED;
+	else
+		current->mm->def_flags &= ~VM_LOCKED;
 	if (flags == MCL_FUTURE)
 		goto out;