Patchwork [21/81] x86-64: Replace left over sti/cli in ia32 audit exit code

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski
Date Feb. 19, 2013, 6:48 p.m.
Message ID <1361299784-8830-22-git-send-email-herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/221791/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski - Feb. 19, 2013, 6:48 p.m.
3.5.7.6 -stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@suse.com>

commit 40a1ef95da85843696fc3ebe5fce39b0db32669f upstream.

For some reason they didn't get replaced so far by their
paravirt equivalents, resulting in code to be run with
interrupts disabled that doesn't expect so (causing, in the
observed case, a BUG_ON() to trigger) when syscall auditing is
enabled.

David (Cc-ed) came up with an identical fix, so likely this can
be taken to count as an ack from him.

Reported-by: Peter Moody <pmoody@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/5108E01902000078000BA9C5@nat28.tlf.novell.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com>
Tested-by: Peter Moody <pmoody@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
---
 arch/x86/ia32/ia32entry.S |    4 ++--
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

Patch

diff --git a/arch/x86/ia32/ia32entry.S b/arch/x86/ia32/ia32entry.S
index 20e5f7b..f6d477a 100644
--- a/arch/x86/ia32/ia32entry.S
+++ b/arch/x86/ia32/ia32entry.S
@@ -204,7 +204,7 @@  sysexit_from_sys_call:
 	testl $(_TIF_ALLWORK_MASK & ~_TIF_SYSCALL_AUDIT),TI_flags+THREAD_INFO(%rsp,RIP-ARGOFFSET)
 	jnz ia32_ret_from_sys_call
 	TRACE_IRQS_ON
-	sti
+	ENABLE_INTERRUPTS(CLBR_NONE)
 	movl %eax,%esi		/* second arg, syscall return value */
 	cmpl $-MAX_ERRNO,%eax	/* is it an error ? */
 	jbe 1f
@@ -214,7 +214,7 @@  sysexit_from_sys_call:
 	call __audit_syscall_exit
 	movq RAX-ARGOFFSET(%rsp),%rax	/* reload syscall return value */
 	movl $(_TIF_ALLWORK_MASK & ~_TIF_SYSCALL_AUDIT),%edi
-	cli
+	DISABLE_INTERRUPTS(CLBR_NONE)
 	TRACE_IRQS_OFF
 	testl %edi,TI_flags+THREAD_INFO(%rsp,RIP-ARGOFFSET)
 	jz \exit