[3.5.y.z,extended,stable] Patch "mm: don't overwrite mm->def_flags in do_mlockall()" has been added to staging queue

Submitted by Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski on Feb. 15, 2013, 5:03 p.m.


Message ID 1360947790-25345-1-git-send-email-herton.krzesinski@canonical.com
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski Feb. 15, 2013, 5:03 p.m.
This is a note to let you know that I have just added a patch titled

    mm: don't overwrite mm->def_flags in do_mlockall()

to the linux-3.5.y-queue branch of the 3.5.y.z extended stable tree 
which can be found at:


If you, or anyone else, feels it should not be added to this tree, please 
reply to this email.

For more information about the 3.5.y.z tree, see



From 2b6fa114faf2d17d0e8a72be3c486d64559aa4fd Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
Date: Tue, 12 Feb 2013 13:46:20 -0800
Subject: [PATCH] mm: don't overwrite mm->def_flags in do_mlockall()

commit 9977f0f164d46613288e0b5778eae500dfe06f31 upstream.

With commit 8e72033f2a48 ("thp: make MADV_HUGEPAGE check for
mm->def_flags") the VM_NOHUGEPAGE flag may be set on s390 in
mm->def_flags for certain processes, to prevent future thp mappings.
This would be overwritten by do_mlockall(), which sets it back to 0 with
an optional VM_LOCKED flag set.

To fix this, instead of overwriting mm->def_flags in do_mlockall(), only
the VM_LOCKED flag should be set or cleared.

Signed-off-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
Reported-by: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
 mm/mlock.c |    6 +++---
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)


Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/mm/mlock.c b/mm/mlock.c
index ef726e8..3283272 100644
--- a/mm/mlock.c
+++ b/mm/mlock.c
@@ -524,11 +524,11 @@  SYSCALL_DEFINE2(munlock, unsigned long, start, size_t, len)
 static int do_mlockall(int flags)
 	struct vm_area_struct * vma, * prev = NULL;
-	unsigned int def_flags = 0;

 	if (flags & MCL_FUTURE)
-		def_flags = VM_LOCKED;
-	current->mm->def_flags = def_flags;
+		current->mm->def_flags |= VM_LOCKED;
+	else
+		current->mm->def_flags &= ~VM_LOCKED;
 	if (flags == MCL_FUTURE)
 		goto out;