Patchwork [153/241] mm: soft offline: split thp at the beginning of soft_offline_page()

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski
Date Dec. 13, 2012, 1:58 p.m.
Message ID <1355407206-17100-154-git-send-email-herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/206442/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski - Dec. 13, 2012, 1:58 p.m.
3.5.7.2 -stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>

commit 783657a7dc20e5c0efbc9a09a9dd38e238a723da upstream.

When we try to soft-offline a thp tail page, put_page() is called on the
tail page unthinkingly and VM_BUG_ON is triggered in put_compound_page().

This patch splits thp before going into the main body of soft-offlining.

Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
---
 mm/memory-failure.c |    8 ++++++++
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/mm/memory-failure.c b/mm/memory-failure.c
index 6de0d61..1bf1092 100644
--- a/mm/memory-failure.c
+++ b/mm/memory-failure.c
@@ -1481,9 +1481,17 @@  int soft_offline_page(struct page *page, int flags)
 {
 	int ret;
 	unsigned long pfn = page_to_pfn(page);
+	struct page *hpage = compound_trans_head(page);
 
 	if (PageHuge(page))
 		return soft_offline_huge_page(page, flags);
+	if (PageTransHuge(hpage)) {
+		if (PageAnon(hpage) && unlikely(split_huge_page(hpage))) {
+			pr_info("soft offline: %#lx: failed to split THP\n",
+				pfn);
+			return -EBUSY;
+		}
+	}
 
 	ret = get_any_page(page, pfn, flags);
 	if (ret < 0)