[RFC,6/7] arm64: kexec: no need to ClearPageReserved()

Message ID 20181205122851.5891-7-david@redhat.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • mm: PG_reserved cleanups and documentation
Related show

Checks

Context Check Description
snowpatch_ozlabs/checkpatch success total: 0 errors, 0 warnings, 0 checks, 7 lines checked
snowpatch_ozlabs/apply_patch success next/apply_patch Successfully applied

Commit Message

David Hildenbrand Dec. 5, 2018, 12:28 p.m.
This will already be done by free_reserved_page().

Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Bhupesh Sharma <bhsharma@redhat.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@oracle.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
---
 arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c | 1 -
 1 file changed, 1 deletion(-)

Comments

James Morse Dec. 5, 2018, 2 p.m. | #1
Hi David,

(CC: +Akashi)

On 05/12/2018 12:28, David Hildenbrand wrote:
> This will already be done by free_reserved_page().

(will already be -> will be ?)

So it does!


> diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c
> index 922add8adb74..0ef4ea73aa54 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c
> +++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c
> @@ -353,7 +353,6 @@ void crash_free_reserved_phys_range(unsigned long begin, unsigned long end)
>  
>  	for (addr = begin; addr < end; addr += PAGE_SIZE) {
>  		page = phys_to_page(addr);
> -		ClearPageReserved(page);
>  		free_reserved_page(page);
>  	}
>  }
> 

Acked-by: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>


Thanks,

James

Patch

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c
index 922add8adb74..0ef4ea73aa54 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/machine_kexec.c
@@ -353,7 +353,6 @@  void crash_free_reserved_phys_range(unsigned long begin, unsigned long end)
 
 	for (addr = begin; addr < end; addr += PAGE_SIZE) {
 		page = phys_to_page(addr);
-		ClearPageReserved(page);
 		free_reserved_page(page);
 	}
 }